Virtuos porting a AAA title to Nintendo Switch

Virtuos_Logo

This discovery comes from a user named Doctre81 who made a video on YouTube detailing his findings that Virtuos, the team behind recent remasters such as Final Fantasy X and X-2, Assassin’s Creed: Ezio Collection, and Batman: Return to Arkham, are underway with a AAA port to Nintendo Switch.

This news comes from the Linkedin profile of employee Xiaoyu Zhang, who showed the following information about the project:

WIP: Porting a AAA title to Nintendo Switch™
– Re-implement the renderer with Nintendo’s native graphics API(nvn)
– Design and implement the low level mechanism of graphics resource management and threading
– Exploit the performance advantages of the Vulkan-like API (UMA, explicit management of graphics memory, complete control over CPU/GPU synchronization, etc)

This follows a tweet made by Virtuos all the way back during the Nintendo Switch Presentation in January where they confirmed that they were underway with Switch development.

What game are you hoping, or at least think might be this mysterious AAA title on Switch? Let me know in the comments below!

2 comments on “Virtuos porting a AAA title to Nintendo Switch

  1. You should see if you can find out who the publisher is. That will give us a better idea of what it could be.

    My heart says Tomb Raider but my head says Crash Bandicoot or Final Fantasy.

    • Ha! I wish I could! I’m only the messenger here. I doubt I’d be able to find out anything more if I tried.

      I too REALLY hope it’s Final Fantasy (especially 12), Crash I feel Vicarious would do anyway as they’ve been VERY Nintendo-centric for most of their career. They made the GBA Crash games among other games after all. 😉

Leave a Reply

